top of page

Taking One for the Team

Stubbornly self-reliant, I'd never considered myself a team player and although a sociable type, I blame shyness for my reluctance to dive in where others go boldly (apologies to Star Trek).

Four years ago, I embraced writing as the perfect choice for a late career change. I’d happily lock myself away with my fictitious characters for company and life became uncomplicated and blissfully stressless for a while.

However, having begun to read books on the art of writing, it became apparent that there was far more to it than that. What is required is a commitment to engage with others and to learn about the business of filmmaking too; it wasn't enough just to write. This caused a dilemma. How to achieve this without travelling too far out of my comfort zone?

I stumbled across The London Screenwriters' Festival in 2012. Great, I thought. I'll go along and sit in lectures, grabbing a cup of coffee in between talks. Afterwards, I can head straight back to the hotel; no hassle, no problem, good plan. So that's what aimed for. But then came the rub...

Out of nowhere, confident, chatty, knowledgable people started to engage me in conversation and drag me into their world and tales. They became interested in what I was working on, my background, previous career, what made me tick and I started to become interested in them too. They wanted to connect on social media and take a look at my website etc., (I didn't have one back then). It became abundantly clear that any writer would have to be prepared to develop their work alongside other professionals; to interact and be open to suggestions; to network etc... This was getting complicated!

Despite the fact that the festival was amazing, I returned home not quite sure where to go from here; this was way outside my comfort zone, after all, I just wanted to write stories, right?

It was only when, two years later, the 2014 festival offered a chance for an Actors' Table Read, I realised that it was time to put-up-or-shut-up. I'd been dabbling with a script for many years and the thought of listening to professional actors performing it, connecting with a director and all giving their unique feedback upon it, was just too tempting. Thanks to the talented Ben Mole, I learned about the importance of being honest in voicing your opinion when working with actors and other crew and how the director is able to manipulate the whole feel of the same set piece with his or her direction. Frankly, it was not only an eyeopener but, to use the catchphrase for that year, f***ing awesome!

Then came an amazing Production Masterclass in Short Script to Short Film with Stephen Follows, a Script Consultation with Euroscript and the ultimate challenge (which I'd been dreading and putting off for years) pitching! Two days of full-on interaction where I became very aware of the relatively small part I had to play in my continuing journey.

Was it really so bad to take the plunge and converse with others who shared a passion for writing? On the contrary, it was a revelation. I enjoyed every single valuable moment of the team’s company and wisdom and it was only after this that the penny finally dropped. Without even noticing, I'd become a team player too!

I travelled home on a complete high that lasted for... well, I'll let you know when it wears off.

If you add to these experiences, the contacts and far more importantly, the lasting friendships which have been gained through the feedback processes for the Create50 initiatives, the value of sharing and exchanging of talents and views becomes plain.

I entered six scripts for The Impact and two short stories for Twisted. Mostly positive but sometimes scarily brutal, the never-ending feedback taught me to accept almost daily criticism and open my eyes and become excited about the other directions for my stories and characters to take. (Newsflash: Yes, they could be made better; suck it up, Kim!) Surprisingly, the one person who tore apart one of my first drafts, I later found out recommended a subsequent draft for inclusion in the finalist list. This script went on to become a winner! I owe a large part of my success to his honesty, passion and generosity. My boldest critic had become my staunchest ally! Who knew? (You know who you are, bless you; the first drink’s on me.)

Although I didn't feel qualified at first, the giving of feedback also developed confidence in sharing and voicing my own views which to my joy, seemed surprisingly well received. It's a great skill to acquire and practice and can really assist in your own writing.

So, am I over my shyness? Probably not but I am learning to cope with it. Now I view walking into a room full of strangers, writers or not, not so much of a nightmare as an opportunity; it no longer keeps me on the sidelines, observing but not participating. In short, I’ve learnt that being a team player is not something which should be deferred or rebelled against but is something to be grasped and celebrated; run towards it, not away from it and you’ll be gobsmacked at your own potential.

I can't wait to meet old friends and new at the festival this year and to start the über exciting journey towards being published with Twisted's Evil Little Sister and filmmaking with The Impact. What a year and it's only May!

Life is truly better as a team player. So thank you, team, for helping to make this writer's dreams come true.

Cheers!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page